The Dark Corner

20130212-333X3025

Most homes have one of these. A dark odd-shaped space that you are not quite sure what to to with. This space in our home is what the previous owners used as a dining room area. Since we use the space next to the kitchen instead as our dining room/eat-in kitchen the old dining room as become my office space but it’s dark and not how I want it to be forever. I prefer build-ins whenever possible because it feels much more permanent and classic. My computer armoire has served me well as we have lived in rentals and I needed an office in my living room but now that our kids are getting older and this is our permanent home I would really like to establish a more permanent office space where there is also room for our kids to do homework and use the computer.

I also would really like to have a window or sliding glass door put in here. Even with the solar tub in the nearby living room it tends to be the darkest part of the house and it feels very closed off and claustrophobic here.

How great would this space be with a window surrounded by build-ins and a cushy window seat and with a connecting desk on the right wall where the little table currently is? Here are some inspiration photos I found on the net.

Buidinidea1buidinidea3buildinidea4

Gorgeous right? I’m not sure this is the direction we will go with the space but this is where my head is at right now…

About Meghan MacAskill

Sharing the adventures of raising three daughters, owning our first and forever home, and working in our dream careers. Our life is a roller coaster of many ups and downs and we are here to share the highs, the lows, and everything in between!

One response to “The Dark Corner”

  1. Lori says :

    Ooh, yeah! A perfect place for a little home office. A little out of the way and a little more private, yet still in the main area of the house. I like either the first or second picture of the idea pix. I can’t wait to see what you do with it.

Leave a Reply

