Writing on the Wall

In case you are wondering, that title only took me 2 minutes to come up with. Boo-ya!

I have long dreamed of having a wall painted in chalkboard paint. This dream has evolved over time to include a need for the wall to be magnetic and for the wall to be in my kitchen. I was inspired by kitchens like this:

113715959311505126_uasq8yBb_cLettered_Cottage_Kitchen_9Jessie-6-Kitchen-Chalkboard

So when we moved into this house I knew instantly that I wanted to turn this somewhat useless wall into a chalkboard wall. I desperately wanted to use sheet metal painted with chalkboard paint to create a smooth magnetic chalkboard wall effect but finding sheet metal large enough proved difficult and I had no idea how I would attach it to the wall except with liquid nails which I am terrified of! So finally I decided to go with a simple lightweight piece of plywood instead and paint with with magnetic primer before adding the chalkboard paint at the end.

311371_10151088543265684_798666651_n

Jared hung it for me with a nail gun.

Jaredwall

My sister Kellee pitched in with some patching.

Kelleewall

Reese helped by modeling by the wall.

Paintwall

I wielded the roller for some serious coats of primer and paint.

20121217-333X4612

And the finished wall is a beauty. You can dress her up or dress her down depending on your mood. I still need to paint the trim a nice crisp white to finish her off but who knows when that will happen? My verdict on the result- love how it turned out but I wish I had gone with the sheet metal. Here are the reasons why:

1. The magnetic primer was expensive so at the end of the day, my concerns about a large piece of sheet metal being expensive are totally par for the course since I had to buy three cans of magnetic primer and the cost probably would have been equal to one large sheet of metal.

2. Magnetic primer is a PAIN to work with. It’s oil based so it is impossible to wash off things like the roller, paint brushes, and my hands! It also flicked paint easier as I rolled so tiny spatters of black magnetic paint ended up all over the wall around the chalkboard as well as the baseboard and the floor around the edge of the drop cloth.

3. It’s a huge pain to mix it up. When you open the paint the metallic bits have all settled at the bottom and you have to mix it up into the paint very much like mixing up a new jar of natural peanut butter. It’s incredibly frustration and messy.

4. At the end of the day, even after 6-7 coats of metallic primer, the wall is only semi-magnetic. I can put magnets on the wall but they don’t hold terribly well.

5. The metallic paint tends to be a bit clumpy which made the chalkboard wall not-so-smooth and harder to write on. If I had used a sheet of metal with a couple of coats of chalkboard paint which is much smoother the wall would have made for a much more writable surface.

20121217-333X460120121217-333X461020121217-333X4616

Still, despite all the set-backs I adore my chalkboard wall and can’t wait to change up the writing on it from time to time and season to season. The girls also love to draw on it and it was fun to write this festive message on it for my annual ornament exchange party last week.

About Meghan MacAskill

Sharing the adventures of raising three daughters, owning our first and forever home, and working in our dream careers. Our life is a roller coaster of many ups and downs and we are here to share the highs, the lows, and everything in between!

Leave a Reply

