There is no such thing as too many photos

I am a professional photographer in real life. It’s a career people dream of having and I am lucky enough to be able to balance it along with my other dream job of being a stay-at-home mom. Many people ask me if I have way too many photos of my kids. I always respond that I have quality and not quantity photos of my children. You would never know this based on the walls of my home though since when you combine the photos I have taken of my kids along with the photos my father-in-law(also a professional photographer) has taken of our family, and throw in family photo sessions with photographer friends, you get a whole lot of quality photos of our family to display.

And display we do.

Before:

Chateau-9802

I see empty walls as canvases waiting to fill with the color and emotion of family photos. We rarely buy art or put anything on our walls but photos. So when we moved into this house and started deciding where things would go, it didn’t take long before I knew that I needed to fill this ‘L’ shaped wall with photos in all shapes and sizes. Since there are so many photos over the years that are special to me it’s hard to pick and choose which ones to frame so the more spaces I have to fill the better.

20121217-333X4546

20121217-333X4549

This view has now become my favorite in the house. I love the cluttered- yet organized feel of this wall and it’s fun to sit with the kids and point out the memories and fun experiences we have had. It was easier that you would think to put everything up. I had a bunch of the black frames to begin with and went to Ikea to buy more in a variety of sizes. The key is to keep it to one color of frame so that it unites the wall and doesn’t get too crazy. After I brought the frames home I layed them out on the floor and played with a variety of arrangements before I came to one I liked. I then took a picture with my phone so once I started putting up the frames I would remember which one went where. I was pretty relaxed about measuring and hanging the photos and they are not perfectly distanced or lined up but I don’t care. The imperfect arrangement was what I was hoping for and I love how homey and relaxed it is.

20121217-333X4550

After I had all the frames up I made a list of all the print sizes and orientations I needed to fill the frames and ordered prints. Photo selection was probably the most time consuming part and I am still not totally satisfied with the photos but I figure that this will be an evolving gallery wall and I am excited to see how it changes over the years.

 

About Meghan MacAskill

Sharing the adventures of raising three daughters, owning our first and forever home, and working in our dream careers. Our life is a roller coaster of many ups and downs and we are here to share the highs, the lows, and everything in between!

One response to “There is no such thing as too many photos”

  1. Mom says :

    I love, love, love the Wall, Meg! So fun and so homey. I wish I had a big wall like this, but as you know, I have very few interior wall on which to do this. But, I have taken away an idea from your wall to do the one wall I have. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

