Knobby

As time goes by I discover more and more things about upgrading our home. I used to look at simple things like a doorknob and assume it was a cheap and easy upgrade- not so! Did you know that front doorknobs and deadbolts average $100 for a new one?! Eeek! That’s a lot of dough just to let yourself in and out of the house!

Still, every day when I opened the door using this mismatched and rusting combo it did not feel like home sweet home.20121005-333X434220121005-333X4343

Also- note the hideous grated screen door. What, do we live in Detroit or something? That baby had to go and fast.

So my sweet Mother and Father gave me a Home Depot gift card for my birthday this year with specific instructions to use it to buy a new knob. Oh glorious day! A new lantern for the dining room and doorknob all in one birthday? Man I am a lucky lady!

20121217-333X457420121217-333X4572

20121217-333X4576

After my brother-in-law installed the new knob and bolt I spray painted the silver knocker with ORB spray paint to match. Jared also removed the fugly screen and the result is halfway glorious. It’s wonderfully satisfying to stroll up to a front door with matching hardware now that doesn’t make me feel like I am going to be robbed any day now. Unfortunately the old doorknob left a square of off-white color that is slightly different than the rest of the door and the paint is peeling. I hope to remedy all this when we paint the door a nice light blue or red in the future, but that will have to wait until we paint the exterior of the house. Peach house + Turquoise front door = Puke.

One step at a time.

About Meghan MacAskill

Sharing the adventures of raising three daughters, owning our first and forever home, and working in our dream careers. Our life is a roller coaster of many ups and downs and we are here to share the highs, the lows, and everything in between!

3 responses to “Knobby”

  1. antiquatedfamilyvalues says :

    Yay! I’m so glad you blogged! I like the hardware change. I was also thinking right after the full door shot what a nice door you have for repainting about 2 min before you talked about painting it. 🙂
    I can’t wait to hear about exterior paint! I wish I had a paintable house….

  2. Kellee says :

    I have to give credit where credit is due, I believe your hubby removed the fugly screen. Love the door knob and lack of screen, so much better.

  3. Tierney says :

    Love the new hardware! I’m totally with you on mismatching stuff, drives me crazy!

Leave a Reply

