Another use for books

DSC_0044-550x484

I saw this wreath on one of my favorite decorating sites and fell in love. Something about the modern twist on a traditional wreath paired with the old book pages for an antique feel had me at hello. Then I recently went to a client’s house for a newborn photo session and to my surprise- she had made the exact same wreath! Seeing it in person made me even more determined to make one of my own. The texture, color, and size made it such a statement piece but yet, still neutral enough to fit in my dining room. And bonus- I already had everything I needed to pull it off except an old book I didn’t mind tearing up! If only I had thought to do this before I took that huge box of old books to Good Will during our move:(. No matter, I picked up two books at Good Will for under $5 and I was set. Why two books? Because I wanted two different sized pages, larger for the outer wreath and smaller for the inner-wreath.

Ta-Da!

20121217-333X4522

I won’t go into super detail about how I made it. There are a ton of great tutorials online and a variety of ways to make a book page wreath. Here are some of the tutorials I got tips from but in the end I just winged it. Tutorial and Tutorial.

20121217-333X4524

I can’t decide if this will be a piece I keep up all year long or if the wreath nature of it makes it a Christmastime decoration. Either way- I am smitten with the result and it makes me want to make more things out of book pages.

About Meghan MacAskill

Sharing the adventures of raising three daughters, owning our first and forever home, and working in our dream careers. Our life is a roller coaster of many ups and downs and we are here to share the highs, the lows, and everything in between!

Leave a Reply

